Oil and Gas Accountability Toolkit

The Public Lab non-profit hosts the **Oil and Gas Accountability Toolkit**, a collection of resources and a coalition of people working around the world on oil and gas issues. This toolkit goes beyond just "tools" to include: * peer support networks * [stories](/blog) of change and of challenges * ways to [build a community of practice](/facilitation) for sustained collaboration on a problem To see a full list of monitoring methods related to oil and gas, [click here](https://publiclab.org/methods#oil-and-gas). ### Coalitions What follows are a range of different topic-specific coalitions we've helped to bring together around a range of oil and gas related issues. We’ve learned more than ever to rely on the creativity and diverse skill-sets of contributors to develop new and unexpected ways of achieving goals. The thousands of people around the world who make up the Public Lab network **bring incredible expertise and a willingness to plug in and tackle problems** and continue to inspire us in their power and capacity. It’s our continuing responsibility to help them recognize and form alliances, and to solve problems together. ### Frac sand mining These resources are built around work supported by the [11th Hour Project](https://11thhourproject.org) which [focused on the issue of frac sand mining](/frac-sand). Since then, a range of projects have evolved to address different aspects of the issue. **** ## Air Monitoring ![microscope](https://publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/022/880/large/OI000139_2.jpg) ### Microscope The Basic Microscope project on Public Lab was born from people’s interest in being able to visualize particulate matter that is known to be harmful for human and livestock health. Several local community members recognized the challenges in advocating with purely numerical data; when people can’t visualize and directly see threats, it can be easier to ignore. [wikis:microscopes] ### Air sampling Building on work by the Bucket Brigade, we've documented and collected several different techniques for collecting air samples for processing at a lab. [wikis:air-sampling] ### Measuring particles There are many different ways to measure particulate pollution. Read below to find out more. [wikis:particulate-sensing-overview] ### Visual emission monitoring Using your eyes or a camera to monitor emissions is a powerful type of monitoring which has several EPA methods associated with it. [wikis:visual-monitoring] ![Screen_Shot_2018-04-16_at_2.57.43_PM.png](https://publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/024/620/large/Screen_Shot_2018-04-16_at_2.57.43_PM.png) ### Hydrogen Sulfide (above image by @ErikHanley11) [wikis:h2s-overview] ### Odor Reporting [wikis:odor] **** ![stormwater](/system/images/photos/000/024/626/large/Screen_Shot_2018-04-16_at_3.42.04_PM.png) ## Water Monitoring A wide range of sample-based, electronic, and other methods of monitoring water quality have been compiled on Public Lab, reflecting a range of efforts across our community. [wikis:water-monitoring] ![timelapse](/system/images/photos/000/018/073/large/Screenshot_2016-09-19_at_2.32.15_PM.png) ### Photo documentation Public Lab work began with photographic monitoring using [balloons and kites](/balloon-mapping). We've grown our coalition around a number of other ways that powerful visual evidence can be produced through photography. [wikis:photo-monitoring] ### Turbidity A range of techniques has been compiled around turbidity monitoring: [wikis:turbidity] ![datalogger](/system/images/photos/000/020/770/large/Screenshot_2017-06-12_at_3.06.25_PM.png) ### Datalogging A surprisingly broad coalition of projects has developed around Public Lab for logging data from different sources. See the main [Data Logging page](/data-logging) for more. [wikis:datalogger] **** ![soil sampling](/system/images/photos/000/024/627/large/Screen_Shot_2018-04-16_at_3.44.24_PM.png) ## Soil Monitoring We're developing initial soil sampling and monitoring techniques and resources under the "soil testing" topic: [wikis:soil-testing] **** ## Questions [questions:oil-and-gas]...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Oil and Gas Water Quality /wiki/oil-and-gas-water-quality over 1 year ago by stevie 19 119 1
Oil and Gas Water Fellowship Trio /wiki/oil-and-gas-water-fellowship-trio over 1 year ago by stevie 5 98 2
Pipeline Webinar /wiki/pipeline-webinar about 2 years ago by warren 1 165 0
Pipeline Monitoring /wiki/pipeline-monitoring over 1 year ago by stevie 12 128 2
Emery Board Terrain Survey /wiki/emery-board about 2 years ago by warren 8 287 0
Odor Logging /wiki/odor 11 months ago by bhamster 33 997 3
Harvey Images /wiki/harvey-images over 3 years ago by warren 61 440 2
Water Sampling /wiki/water-sampling almost 4 years ago by warren 2 1,324 2
Soil Sampling /wiki/soil-sampling almost 4 years ago by warren 2 1,106 3
Data Logging /wiki/data-logging about 3 years ago by warren 30 3,756 7
pDR-1500 /wiki/pdr-1500 about 4 years ago by mathew 6 948 2
MiniVol TAS Particulate Matter Monitor /wiki/minivol about 2 years ago by Bronwen 45 2,225 1
Aerial Photography /wiki/aerial-photography over 4 years ago by liz 19 1,807 3
Photo Monitoring /wiki/photo-monitoring almost 4 years ago by stevie 45 1,158 2
Shell Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill /wiki/shell-gulf-of-mexico-oil-spill about 3 years ago by eustatic 26 825 5
KAPtery Aerial Rigs /wiki/kaptery-aerial-rigs over 4 years ago by cfastie 4 1,219 10
Oil Testing Kit Beta /wiki/oil-testing-kit-beta about 5 years ago by warren 67 724 2
DustDuino /wiki/dustduino 6 months ago by bhamster 27 5,928 7
Particle Sensing /wiki/particle-sensing about 3 years ago by warren 25 2,772 5
Oil Testing Kit /wiki/oil-testing-kit over 3 years ago by warren 132 8,372 7
Riffle: an Open Source Water Monitoring Approach /riffle over 3 years ago by warren 100 4,667 14
Refinery Watching /wiki/refinery-watching over 5 years ago by warren 18 664 5
Aerial photos with Passenger Pigeon /wiki/passenger-pigeon about 2 years ago by pablo 14 638 2
Air Column Monitor /wiki/air-column-monitor over 8 years ago by liz 10 4,038 1