Public Lab Fellows Program

While anyone may join Public Lab and take part in developing and applying do-it-yourself pollution monitoring techniques, the Public Lab non-profit also supports fellowships that emphasize peer production projects working on community environmental health issues. Fellowships activities can include: * Researching and publishing on methods for accessible community science monitoring techniques. * Developing, incubating and distributing hardware and software research tools (and associated methodology) that are low cost, easy to use, and modifiable. </br> * Collectively applying these tools in research and monitoring projects in particular locales. </br> * Advocating for community-identified goals and objectives by sharing the resulting data and knowledge with peers, regulatory agencies, press, and other stakeholders. </br> ## Current Fellowship Programs - [Fellowship Teams](https://publiclab.org/wiki/fellows#About+Fellowship+Teams) - [Research Curation Fellowships](https://publiclab.org/wiki/fellows#About+Research+Curation+Fellowships) <hr> ### About Fellowship Teams Fellowship teams are financially supported collaborations hosted and facilitated by Public Lab. They advance the impact of localized community science on critical environmental health topics. Read more about [Fellowship Teams here](https://publiclab.org/wiki/fellowship-teams). **Fellowship Team Goals** - Short term: to document current efforts in monitoring, organizing, and advocating - Medium term: to advance monitoring tools, organizing, and advocacy methods - Long term: to develop network relationships among science organizations, hardware projects & communities, and frontline communities to advance the environmental justice movement ### Open Fellowship Team roles: + The next round of [Frontline Community Organizer Fellowship nominations and applications](https://publiclab.org/notes/amocorro/04-23-2021/seeking-community-organizers-to-lead-public-lab-s-fellowship-teams) will be reviewed November/December 2021 ### Current Fellowship Team Projects: #### Val Verde Air Quality Monitoring Project This project is based in Val Verde in Los Angeles County, CA where a large landfill has been operating in the community affecting local air quality since 1972. In the community’s fight against the landfill, residents have conducted preliminary air monitoring results that they've shared, documented and reported to every accessible body including to government agencies and the company itself. Having long since established local networks and organizations of support to address these challenges, only one or two people locally are versed in the pilot monitoring program. The intent behind this project is to share existing knowledge regarding the landfill air quality issue with more local community members, train people on how to conduct ongoing monitoring and have an air quality monitoring program that can be effectively shared to the broader Val Verde community.  **Fellows working on this project:** - [Sara Sage](https://publiclab.org/profile/sarasage): Community Fellow and Project Advisor - [Jeremiah Dockray](https://publiclab.org/profile/jdockray): Air Quality Monitoring Methods Fellow - Chris Nidel: Legal Fellow - [Denisse Benitez Nassar](https://publiclab.org/profile/denissebn_06): [Documentation Fellow ](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/02-16-2021/public-lab-seeking-documentation-fellow) ------------- ### About Research Curation Fellowships Research Curation Fellowships enable individuals with experience and interest in an environmental health topic related to air, water, soil/land, or community organizing and advocacy to grow both their personal knowledge, as well as a larger network of collaborators within that topic area on Public Lab’s platforms. Research Fellows will work individually in their research area, and as a cohort among other Research Curation Fellows to share knowledge and best practices across topics. [Learn more about Research Curation Fellowships here](https://publiclab.org/wiki/research-curation-fellows). **Major goals of Research Curation Fellowships for each topic area:** 1. Network with scientists, technologists, and/or organizers working in the environmental topic area and invite contributions to Public Lab’s community science resources in this area. 2. Organize quarterly virtual events where contributors and other interested community members can connect on the environmental topic. 3. Co-organize a once annual, three-month period of focused outreach and content development in their focus topic area with Public Lab’s Research Coordinator, culminating in a half-day event featuring research highlights, community conversations, and demos or live builds of environmental monitoring tools. #### Current Research Curation Fellows + **[Vania Fong](https://publiclab.org/profile/fongvania)**: [Air Research Curation Fellow](https://publiclab.org/notes/bhamster/03-15-2021/seeking-an-air-research-curation-fellow) + **[Laurel Mire](https://publiclab.org/profile/laurel_mire)**: [Land Research Curation Fellow](https://publiclab.org/notes/bhamster/03-15-2021/seeking-a-land-research-curation-fellow) + **[Julia Masters](https://publiclab.org/profile/julia_e_masters)**: [Organizing & Advocacy Research Curation Fellow](https://publiclab.org/notes/bhamster/03-15-2021/seeking-an-organizing-advocacy-research-curation-fellow) + **[Alejo Bonifacio](https://publiclab.org/profile/alejobonifacio)**: [Water Research Curation Fellow](https://publiclab.org/notes/bhamster/03-15-2021/seeking-a-water-research-curation-fellow) ------------- ### Past Public Lab Fellows and their projects: - **[Katie Gradowski](https://publiclab.org/profile/kgradow1)**: [Community Technology Fellow](https://publiclab.org/notes/joyofsoy/01-30-2020/fellowship-posting-community-technology-fellow) - **[Mo Langmuir](https://publiclab.org/profile/molangmuir10)**: [Community Mapping Fellow](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/03-15-2019/community-mapping-fellowship) - **[Sairam Dhandapani](https://publiclab.org/profile/silentsairam)**: [Community Mapping Fellow](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/03-15-2019/community-mapping-fellowship) - **[Alahna Moore](https://publiclab.org/profile/a1ahna)**: [Oil and Gas Accountability](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/09-05-2018/community-science-oil-and-gas-fellowship) - **[Lemmy Kamau](https://publiclab.org/profile/kamau19)**: [Frac Sand Sentinel](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/12-10-2018/frac-sand-sentinel-fellowship) - **[Danielle Stevenson](https://publiclab.org/profile/DanielleS)**: [Community Science Soil Testing](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/12-07-2018/community-science-soil-testing-fellowship) - **[Ann Chen](https://publiclab.org/profile/ann)**: [DIY Oil Testing Narratives](http://publiclab.org/notes/klie/09-14-2015/homebrew-fellowship-application-diy-oil-testing-narratives) - **[Matej Vakula](https://publiclab.org/profile/Matej)**: [Oil Sheen Testing Fellowship](http://publiclab.org/notes/klie/07-13-2015/sprint-fellowship-application-public-lab-oil-sheen-testing) - **[Sreyantha Chary](http://publiclab.org/profile/Sreyanth)**: [Spectral Workbench macros and recipes](https://publiclab.org/notes/author/Sreyanth) - **[Will Macfarlane](https://publiclab.org/profile/wmacfarl)**: [Hardware Fellow, Oil & Gas Industry](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/08-06-2019/seeking-hardware-fellow-for-oil-gas-water-fellowship-trio) - **[Yagiz Sutcu](http://publiclab.org/profile/ygzstc)**: [Public Lab beta Oil Testing Kit](https://publiclab.org/notes/author/ygzstc) - **[Nick Shapiro](http://publiclab.org/profile/nshapiro)**: [Open Air Fellow](https://publiclab.org/wiki/indoor-air-quality-monitoring) - **[Don Blair](http://publiclab.org/profile/donblair)**: [Open Water Fellow](https://publiclab.org/tag/open-water) - **[Read Holman](https://publiclab.org/profile/read_holman)**: [Lead Monitoring Network](https://publiclab.org/wiki/the-lead-data-collaborative-overview) - **[Rollin Black](https://publiclab.org/profile/rollinrenola)**: [Community Fellow, Oil & Gas Industry](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/08-06-2019/seeking-community-fellow-for-oil-gas-water-fellowship-trio) <!-- ###About Fellowship Trios Fellowship trios are financially supported collaborations hosted and facilitated by Public Lab. They advance the impact of community science on critical environmental health topics. ###Fellowship Trio Goals: Short term: to document current efforts in monitoring, organizing, and advocating Medium term: to advance monitoring tools and organizing and advocacy methods Long term: to develop network relationships among science organizations, hardware projects & communities, and frontline communities to advance the environmental justice movement **Initiative Fellows** The role of an Initiative Fellow is to lead the day-to-day management of programmatic hardware and software development in their initiative area, to coordinate with Public Lab’s outreach team on events planning and community engagement, and to participate in monthly meetups and Public Lab’s annual conference. Initiative fellows provide support to community members for tool research and development, connect communities tackling similar issues, and coordinate closely with Public Lab staff. Fellows receive various levels of support from Public Lab including stipends and support for workspace, materials, and travel. **Sprint Fellows** The role of the Sprint Fellow is to support focused, project-based responsibilities in one of the three Initiatives (Open Air, Water and Land), such as overcoming a specific research or development hurdle. These fellowships are designed to be more nimble and based on immediate, concrete needs, whether that be related to a tool or a community-defined need. Sprint Fellows receive stipends to support workshops, travel and workspace for 3-6 month periods. **Co-Fellows** The Co-Fellows program provides funding and resources for two-person teams to develop and implement projects defined by a community need. Of the two-fellow team, typically one fellow would be actively working on a specific environmental issue and one fellow would come from a technical background. Co-Fellows receive stipends to support the development of their project. ** Read more about each initiative at: http://publiclab.org/wiki/nonprofit-initiatives -->...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Research Curation Fellows /wiki/research-curation-fellows about 1 month ago by bhamster 5 26 1
Fellowship Teams /wiki/fellowship-teams 15 days ago by stevie 24 157 3